in a pickle…

Yes, I’m still at it, preserving any and all gluts from the holding.  No fruit, vegetable or herb is safe from the possibility of appearing in a pickle, preserve, or being put into the dehydrator.

This week, I’ve turned my attention to the courgette, which is a vegetable plant that can easily swamp one with its bounty.  I always have too many plants because I cannot resist having a range of courgette shapes, (cylinders and spheres), and colours, (different greens, yellow, striped…).

I’ve found that the secret to keeping a courgette avalanche at bay is to pick the vegetables when they are relatively small.  Of course, this is the plan, but things, invariably, don’t turn out that way.  This week, when I’d exhausted swopping the vegetables for other provisions with my neighbours, I made ‘bread and butter’ refridgerator pickles with sliced courgettes instead of cucumbers, (recipe used, here).

500g of courgette with pickling liquor fills about 3-4 pound jars, so making these can substantially diminish a courgette oversupply.  The pickles are ready to eat after a couple of days and can keep for a few months in the fridge.  Ours are all consumed well before then. They are delicious with bread and cheese and are a good substitute for gherkin with a burger.  I’m in no doubt that I’ll be making another batch soon.

In the tunnel, the tomatoes are starting to ripen.  I picked a bowl of the large ‘Cuore di Bue’ fruit.

Time to start making tomato sauce!

 

Leave a Reply

