ready …. steady…..

DSC_0037

Seed sowing continues.  I’ve sown a crop of broad bean (Bunyard’s Exhibition) and dwarf french bean (Tendergreen).  Once they’ve germinated they’ll be planted out in the polytunnel.    I usually do an autumn sowing of broad bean Aquadulce Claudia and top it up with a spring sowing of another variety.   This year I’m going to see if I can get an earlier crop by using the  polytunnel.

Once again the variety has been dictated by ‘what I have in my seed stash’.  Bunyard’s Exhibition is an old variety, introduced 1884, and is meant to be reliable with excellent flavour.   Tendergreen is a heavy cropper, again reputed to have very good flavour.   Both are meant to freeze well but I’m hoping that by spreading out the sowings, and by focusing on seasonal recipes, the freezer will be last resort this year.  The early sowing of the french bean is an experiment.  Tendergreen is meant to mature early though I have to say a January sowing is very early – we shall have to see.

In a departure from the norm I’ve decided to keep these early sowings in the house to deter the mouse raids!

DSC_0024

Thanks to the OH, the polytunnel is ready and waiting.

 

Leave a comment